Skip to Content

College of Arts and Sciences

Three faculty award winners with Provost Joan Gabel

Outstanding faculty honored

CAS faculty received 13 awards at the Office of the Provost's annual ceremony recognizing excellence in research, teaching and service.

As a hub of creativity and innovation, the College of Arts and Sciences relies on a strong faculty and staff to uphold our tradition of excellence in research, teaching and advising. Each year the Office of the Provost presents internal awards to recognize excellence across the university. This year College of Arts and Sciences faculty and staff received 13 of those awards.

Professor Jerry Hilbish from biological sciences, Professor Jennifer Pournelle from the School of Earth, Ocean and Environment (SEOE) and professor Sara Schwebel from English all received the Outstanding Undergraduate Research Mentor Award for encouraging deeper academic exploration among their undergraduate students.

Professor Gwen Geidel from SEOE and. Renee McGinnis from chemistry and biochemistry each received an Ada B. Thomas Outstanding Advisor Award. This award recognizes one faculty and one staff member each year who offer quality advising to graduate students.

For excellence in research, English professor Paula Feldman received the Russell Award for Research in Humanities and Social Science, and chemistry and biochemistry professor Qian Wang received the Russell Award for Research in Science, Mathematics and Engineering. These are the most prestigious annual prizes given at Carolina. Selection is based on creative achievements in the form of books, articles, productions, exhibits, compositions or arrangements. Each recipient receives $3,000 and a certificate of recognition.

Professor Tan Ye from the Confucius Institute received an Educational Foundation Award for Outstanding Faculty Service, for which he will be given a $3,000 award.

The Carolina Trustees Professorship is given to two tenured Columbia campus professors and one professor at another USC campus each year for teaching excellence. This year both Columbia campus professors come from the College of Arts and Sciences: professor Michael Filaseta from mathematics and professor Daniel Littlefield from history. The South Carolina Board of Trustees gives each recipient an award of $2,000.

To celebrate and promote innovative teaching, the Mungo Teaching Awards are awarded for both undergraduate and graduate teaching. Each year four undergraduate teaching awards and one graduate teaching award is given in the amount of $5,000. From the College of Arts and Sciences, professor David Barbeau from SEOE and professor Ralf Gothe from physics and astronomy received undergraduate teaching awards and professor David Wethey from biological sciences received the graduate teaching award.

Congratulations to all of our award-winning faculty! 

To learn more about the University of South Carolina’s internal awards, please visit the Office of the Provost webpage